PREA Information

On September 4, 2003, President George W. Bush signed into law the Prison Rape Elimination Act of 2003 The legislation required the Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) to develop a new national data collection on the incidence and prevalence of sexual assault within correctional facilities. The final rule was published in the federal register on June 20, 2012, and became effective on August 20, 2012.

The DOCR has implemented a written policy mandating zero tolerance toward all forms of sexual abuse and sexual harassment and outlining the agency’s approach to preventing, detecting, and responding to such conduct. The standard that governs external audits provides that the first audit cycle begins on August 20, 2013, and, to be in compliance, that jurisdictions must have at least one third of their facilities audited within the subsequent 12-month period ending August 20, 2014. The DOCR is committed to PREA compliance while providing a sexually safe environment for all adults and juveniles in our care and custody. The results of these audits will be posted on this website.

PREA Contact Information by Site

MRCC Contact

Joseph Joyce, PREA Compliance Manager
jjoyce@nd.gov
P.O. Box 5521
Bismarck, ND 58506

James Sayler, Warden
jpsayler@nd.gov
3100 Railroad Ave.
Bismarck ND 58501

Maren Arbach, PREA Coordinator
marbach@nd.gov
3100 Railroad Avenue
PO Box 5521
Bismarck, ND 58506-5521

JRCC Contact

Connie Hackman, PREA Compliance Manager
chackman@nd.gov
2521 Circle Drive Jamestown, ND 58401

Chad Pringle, Warden
cpringle@nd.gov
2521 Circle Drive Jamestown, ND 58401

Maren Arbach, PREA Coordinator
marbach@nd.gov
3100 Railroad Avenue
PO Box 5521
Bismarck, ND 58506-5521

NDSP Contact

Todd Flanagan, PREA Compliance Manager
tmflanagan1@nd.gov
3100 Railroad Avenue
PO Box 5521
Bismarck, ND 58506-5521

Colby Braun, Warden
cobraun@nd.gov
3100 Railroad Avenue
PO Box 5521
Bismarck, ND 58506-5521

Maren Arbach, PREA Coordinator
marbach@nd.gov
3100 Railroad Avenue
PO Box 5521
Bismarck, ND 58506-5521